A few of my favorite things…

17 May

The upcoming auction of 20th Century Design on June 13th is shaping up to be my favorite sale of this year.  I want it all!  And it just so happens that I have a birthday coming up….

Here are a few of my favorite things….well my favorites as of today….

A PAIR OF CAT BOOKENDS AND CAT DOOR STOP DESIGNED BY WALTER VON NESSEN FOR CHASE BRASS AND COPPER
Designed by Walter Von Nessen (American, 1889-1943)
Manufactured by Chase Brass & Copper Co., Waterbury, Connecticut, circa 1935
Estimate: $600-900, opening bid $300

Great looking cats!  I love the simplistic forms.

SOLD for $625, including buyer’s premium.

 

A GERMAN AMBER AND SILVERED METAL TABLE CLOCK ATTRIBUTED TO NAUJOKS, MANN AND GEDUK
Koenigsberg, Germany, circa 1940
Estimate: $1200-1800, opening bid $900

The amber in this clock seems to just glow….very elegant and modern!

SOLD for $2,125, including buyer’s premium.

 

A FOUR PIECE MANNING BOWMAN CHROMED METAL AND BAKELITE COFFEE SET
Manning Bowman Company, Meriden, Connecticut, circa 1928
Estimate: $100-200, opening bid $1

A great looking set from 1928 that’s affordable?  Sold!

SOLD for $200, including buyer’s premium.

 

AN AMERICAN WOOD AND CHROME BARTENDER-FORM CIGARETTE DISPENSER AND LIGHTER
Maker unidentified, American, circa 1930
Estimate: $300-500, opening bid $150

How much fun would this guy be at my next cocktail party?

SOLD for $406.25, including buyer’s premium.

 

AN AMERICAN THREE PIECE GLASS MARTINI SET
Maker unknown, American, circa 1935
Estimate: $25-50, opening bid $1

LOVE!  The perfect martini set…..now if I could only convince a colleague of mine to share his martini recipe….they’re lethal!

SOLD for $237.50, including buyer’s premium.

I’m sure I’ll be posting more of my favorite things in the next few weeks.  The sale has a great mix of interesting items in good condition in all price ranges.  I’ve been saving my pennies all year for this sale.  It’s going to be fun!

Leave a Reply

